top of page
  • Writer's pictureparhelion

Camp NaNoWriMo half way update


I have to admit... I'm on track but it's been hard. I thought doing a poem a day would be an easier commitment than a novel draft. In some ways that is true. The actual quantity of writing required each day is a lot less so it fits my current schedule better.


But it's also been a lot harder. A poem is such a distilled form of writing and expression that you can't just throw a thousand awful words onto the page and console yourself with, "I can come back and refine the later" like you can with other forms of writing. If you're not in the mood then there's a good chance that whatever poetry you force yourself to write is going to be irrevocably crap when you return to it at a later date. It is permanently tainted by your lack of initial inspiration. Or at least that's how I feel.


Looking at the 17 poems I've written so far I would say that there are only 3 I really like and 10 I could potentially revisit. The other 7 are trash. But that's 17 poems I didn't have before, so it's been a great experience.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page